Graduate Students

Carolin Benack

Carolin Benack

Student

carolin.benack@duke.edu

American literature; literary realism and naturalism; history of economics; novel theory; political philosophy

Devin Buckley

Devin Buckley

Student

devin.buckley@duke.edu

Interests: Romanticism, Aesthetics, German Idealism, Phenomenology, Philosophical theology

Russell Coldicutt

Russell Coldicutt

Student

russell.coldicutt@duke.edu

Russell Coldicutt is a doctoral candidate in Duke’s Ph.D. program in English and works as an assistant editor for NOVEL: A Forum on Fiction. Building from his interest in novel theory, cybernetics, and the philosophy of technology, Russell is beginning a dissertation on the infrastructures of... Full Profile »

Jessica Covil

Jessica Covil

Student

jessica.covil@duke.edu

Jessica Covil is a third-year PhD student in English at Duke, where she is also working towards graduate certificates in African & African American Studies and Gender, Sexuality, & Feminist Studies. Her research currently focuses on literary representations of community, belonging, and... Full Profile »

Kimberley Dimitriadis

Kimberley Dimitriadis

Student

kimberley.dimitriadis@duke.edu

Kimberley Bridgette Dimitriadis is a third year in Duke’s Ph.D. program in English and works as an editorial assistant for NOVEL: A Forum on Fiction. Her research interests include nineteenth-century literature and culture; the history of science and mathematics; and the novel and novel... Full Profile »

James Draney

James Draney

Student

james.draney@duke.edu

20th and 21st century anglophone and American literatures; Marxism; media studies; phenomenology; history of the novel; philosophy and literature

Kevin Gallin

Kevin Gallin

Student

kevin.gallin@duke.edu

Kevin Gallin is a PhD candidate in English at Duke University. His research interests include Global Modernism(s), the Contemporary Anglophone novel, Irish literature, literary cultures, and genre and novel theory. His dissertation project focuses on how and why Modernist narrative strategies... Full Profile »

Tye Landels

Tye Landels

Student

tye.landels@duke.edu

European Romanticism; Enlightenment and counter-Enlightenment thought; history of subjectivity; ethics and aesthetics; hermeneutics

Catherine Lee

Catherine Lee

Student

catherine.lee@duke.edu

Catherine Ji Won Lee is a PhD candidate in English at Duke University, specializing in British Romanticism with research interests in aesthetics, novel theory, affect theory, and the relationship between literature and science. She holds an MA in English from the University of British Columbia and... Full Profile »

Shirley Li

Shirley Li

Student

shirley.li1@duke.edu

B.A. Williams College, Williamstown, Massachusetts, 2013M.S. Ed., University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 2016

Joanna Murdoch

Joanna Murdoch

Student

joanna.murdoch@duke.edu

I'm a doctoral candidate in late medieval literature at Duke University's English Department. I study the high-stakes reading practices surrounding devotional poems copied in fifteenth-century manuscripts. These poems and their surviving manuscripts are often overlooked in long histories of "the... Full Profile »

Sonia Nayak

Sonia Nayak

Student

sonia.nayak@duke.edu

My research combines the microeconomic vestiges of colonial capitalism, with a reengagement with psycho-affective pain in literature, or the microaggression, into what I call microcruelty—the interior, psychological and economic effects of repeated, minor cruelties— to help us see the... Full Profile »

Sasha Panaram

Sasha Panaram

Student

sasha.panaram@duke.edu

Sasha Panaram is a PhD candidate in English at Duke University, where she studies conditions of belonging, creative expressions of loss, and enactments of fugitivity in black diasporic literature. Her dissertation explores fictional and critical renderings of the Middle Passage by black women in... Full Profile »

Claire Ravenscroft

Claire Ravenscroft

Student

claire.ravenscroft@duke.edu

Claire Ravenscroft is a doctoral candidate in the department of English. Her research and teaching interests include energy, environment, contemporary fiction and film. Her dissertation, Fossil Capitalist Realism: Petrofiction, Climate Change and the Endless Twentieth Century, identifies the... Full Profile »

Kevin Spencer

Kevin Spencer

Student

kevin.spencer@duke.edu

I graduated with a BA (hons) in English and an MA in English from the University of Alberta. I completed a second MA in Theory and Criticism at Western University in London, Ontario, the culmination of which was a thesis called "Swearing: Force and Language." In that thesis, I asked why and how... Full Profile »

Jessica Stark

Jessica Stark

Student

jessica.quick@duke.edu

Jessica Q. Stark is a PhD Candidate in English at Duke University, where she is studying the presence of community, collaboration, and popular culture across literary genres. Her dissertation project explores the intersections between modern to contemporary poetry and American comic books in... Full Profile »

Patrick Timmis

Patrick Timmis

Student

patrick.timmis@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D. candidate in English affiliated with the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies. My research interests include the interplay between theater and Puritanism in early modern England, devotional poetry, and London sermon culture. I previously completed an M.A. at the University of... Full Profile »