Graduate Students

Devin Buckley

Devin Buckley

Student

devin.buckley@duke.edu

Interests: Romanticism, Aesthetics, German Idealism, Phenomenology, Philosophical theology

Jessica Covil

Jessica Covil

Student

jessica.covil@duke.edu

Jessica Covil is a second-year PhD student of English at Duke University. Her research currently focuses on literary representations of community, belonging, and “home” in 20th-Century American Literature, and on connections between the poetic and the political, especially within... Full Profile »

James Draney

James Draney

Student

james.draney@duke.edu

20th and 21st century anglophone and American literatures; Marxism; media studies; phenomenology; history of the novel; philosophy and literature

Kevin Gallin

Kevin Gallin

Student

kevin.gallin@duke.edu

Kevin Gallin is a PhD candidate in English at Duke University. His research interests include Global Modernism(s), the Contemporary Anglophone novel, Irish literature, literary cultures, and genre and novel theory. His dissertation project focuses on how and why Modernist narrative strategies... Full Profile »

Sasha Panaram

Sasha Panaram

Student

sasha.panaram@duke.edu

Sasha Panaram is a PhD candidate in English at Duke University, where she studies conditions of belonging, creative expressions of loss, and enactments of fugitivity in black diasporic literature. Her dissertation explores fictional and critical renderings of the Middle Passage by black women in... Full Profile »

Claire Ravenscroft

Claire Ravenscroft

Student

claire.ravenscroft@duke.edu

Claire Ravenscroft is a doctoral candidate in the English department with research and teaching interests in contemporary literature, energy and climate.

Kevin Spencer

Kevin Spencer

Student

kevin.spencer@duke.edu

I graduated with a BA (hons) in English and an MA in English from the University of Alberta. I completed a second MA in Theory and Criticism at Western University in London, Ontario, the culmination of which was a thesis called "Swearing: Force and Language." In that thesis, I asked why and how... Full Profile »

Michelle Sroka

Michelle Sroka

Student

michelle.sroka@duke.edu

Ph.D. Candidate in English, 2013-Present I specialize in the long eighteenth century in Britain and British Romanticism, with an emphasis upon labor, gender, and ecocritical concerns. My dissertation project, The Poetics of Labor, examines how laboring- and middle-class writers in Britain... Full Profile »

Jessica Stark

Jessica Stark

Student

jessica.quick@duke.edu

Jessica Q. Stark is a PhD Candidate in English at Duke University, where she is studying the presence of community, collaboration, and popular culture across literary genres. Her dissertation project explores the intersections between modern to contemporary poetry and American comic books in... Full Profile »

Hannah VanderHart

Hannah VanderHart

Student

Office Hours: By appointment

hannah.vanderhart@duke.edu

Early Modern Studies. I work on gender and collaborative poetics in the seventeenth century, specifically the poetry of Philip and Mary Sidney, Aemilia Lanyer, Katherine Philips and Mary, Lady Chudleigh.