Graduate Students

Graduate Students

Brenna Casey

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

brenna.casey@duke.edu

Brenna Casey is a doctoral candidate in the Departments of English and Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies.  Her work focuses on the intersection of literature and visual culture in the 19th and early 20th centuries. 

Christopher Catanese

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

Office: 2805 Shenandoah Ave, Durham, NC 27704

Phone: +1 423 503 5648

christopher.catanese@duke.edu

Christopher Catanese is a doctoral candidate in the English Department with research interests in British Romanticism, eighteenth-century poetry and poetics, working-class poets, genre theory, and historiography. See link to website below for CV and published work. Advisor: Rob MitchellDissertation... Full Profile »

missing portrait

Jessica Hines

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

jessica.hines@duke.edu

missing portrait

Jonathan Howard

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

Office: 433 E. Woodlawn Street, Philadelphia, PA 19144

jonathan.howard@duke.edu

missing portrait

Matthew Omelsky

Student

matthew.omelsky@duke.edu

African and diasporic literature, film, music; phenomenology; time; French, Wolof, German languages.

Claire Ravenscroft

Student

claire.ravenscroft@duke.edu

Claire Ravenscroft is a doctoral candidate in the English department with research and teaching interests in 20th-21st century American literature and the energy humanities.

missing portrait

Darrell Smith

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

Office: 314 Allen Building, BOX_90015, Durham, NC 27708

darrell.smith@duke.edu

missing portrait

Nikolas Sparks

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

nikolas.sparks@duke.edu

missing portrait

Kevin Spencer

Student

kevin.spencer@duke.edu

20th Century Anglophone; Phenomenology and Ordinary Language Philosophy

missing portrait

Cheryl Spinner

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

cheryl.spinner@duke.edu

Hannah VanderHart

Student

Office Hours: By appointment

hannah.vanderhart@duke.edu

Early Modern - Currently working on the Sidneys.Courses taught: Intro to Creative Writing (Eng 110S) Teaching Spring 2017: Intro to Poetry (Eng 220S)

missing portrait

Stefan Waldschmidt

Graduate Assistant

stefan.waldschmidt@duke.edu

Stefan Waldschmidt is a Ph.D Student in English whose research focuses on the aesthetics of cost-benefit analysis and the narratives that Jeremy Bentham's utilitarianism makes possible for nineteenth-century British Literature. His work on the poetry of physiology textbooks can be found in... Full Profile »

JDMA Students