2022 Creative Writing Scholarship Winners

Graphic of laptop, pen, book, papers and coffee

Congratulations to the 2022 Critical Essay and Creative Writing Scholarships winners!

Stanley E. Fish Award for Outstanding Work in British Literature: 
Kari Tora Larsen, ‘22
This award recognizes outstanding work by an undergraduate enrolled in an English course in British Literature.

Award for Most Original Honors Thesis: 
Taylor Madison Plett, ‘22
This award recognizes a senior student for writing the most original honors thesis.

William Blackburn Scholarship
Lily Neusaenger, ‘25
Rodricka Robinson, '24

Created in 1962 by students and friends of Professor William Blackburn (1899-1969), who established the creative writing initiative at Duke, this scholarship recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of creative writing. 

Francis Pemberton Scholarship
Thalia Halloran, '22
This scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior pursuing study in creative writing. It was created by the Trustees of The Mary Duke Biddle Foundation in memory and in honor of Francis Pemberton's service to the Biddle Foundation. 

Margaret Rose Knight Sanford Scholarship
Milla Surjadi, 2024
Given annually to a female student who demonstrates a particular promise in creative writing, this scholarship was established to recognize the untiring efforts of Margaret Rose Knight Sanford on behalf of Duke University. 

Past Writing Contest and Scholarships Winners