Recent Creative Writing Contest Winners

The English Departments is honored to announce the winners of its 2019 writing contests. The department administers writing contests to recognize fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry and critical works by English majors and non-major undergraduates.  


Anne Flexner Award for Fiction
Caroline Armstrong  - “Friday”
The Anne Flexner Memorial Award for Creative Writing was established by the family and friends of Anne Flexner, who graduated from Duke in 1945.

Reynolds Price Award for Fiction
Thalia Halloran - “Chesire”
The Reynolds Price Fiction Award was established in memory of the distinguished novelist, essayist, story-writer, poet and public intellectual, Reynolds Price, who was a graduate of Duke and taught in the English Department for over 50 years.


George P. Lucaci Award for Creative Non-Fiction
1st Place  - Annie Delmedico - “My Stranger”
2ndPlace - Thalia Halloran - “Excuse Me”
The Lucaci Award for Creative nonfiction is funded by the Lucaci Endowment. It was established to encourage creative nonfiction writing and to honor George P. Lucaci, a former Duke student, who has been an active supporter of undergraduate creative writing in the English Department for many years.


Academy of American Poets Prize
1stPlaceValerie Muensterman - “Prophet Syndrome”
Honorable Mention - Carrie Wang“Along the Curves of Cities”
Founded in 1934 in New York City, the Academy of American Poets is the largest membership-based nonprofit organization advocating for American poets and poetry.  Its mission is to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry.

Anne Flexner Award for Poetry
Aaron VanSteinberg - “Arrivals”
The Anne Flexner Memorial Award for Poetry was established by the family and friends of Anne Flexner, who graduated from Duke in 1945.

Terry Welby Tyler, Jr Award for Poetry
Nadia Kirmani - “Before It’s Forgotten”
This award was established by the family of Terry Welby Tyler, Jr., an English major that loved poetry.  He would have graduated with the class of 1997 had he not passed away in 1996.  This award recognizes and honors outstanding undergraduate poetry.

Critical Essay Contest

Caroline Waring - "(In)distinct Sensation and Money that Loves You: Affect, Subjectification, and Machines in Nathanael West’s The Day of the Locust" 

Archive of Writing Contest Winners