Graduate Students

Graduate Students

missing portrait

Layla Aldousany

Student

Office: Allen Building

layla.aldousany@duke.edu

Carolin Benack

Student

Office: Allen Building

carolin.benack@duke.edu

Gregory Brennen

Student

Office: 314 Allen Building

Campus Box: Box 90017

gregory.brennen@duke.edu

I'm interested in the ways Victorians governed themselves and others. My work investigates Victorian novels' relationships with the state, political culture, and liberalism. More broadly, my interests include Victorian literature and culture, novel studies, and the history of political liberalism.... Full Profile »

Devin Jane Buckley

Student

Office: Allen Building

devin.buckley@duke.edu

Brenna Marie Casey

Student

Office: Allen Building

brenna.casey@duke.edu

Brenna Casey is a doctoral candidate in the Departments of English and Gender, Sexuality, and Feminist Studies.  Her work focuses on the intersection of literature and visual culture in the 19th and early 20th centuries. 

Christopher Andrew Catanese

Instructional Staff, Grad Student

christopher.catanese@duke.edu

Christopher Catanese is a doctoral candidate in the English Department with research interests in British Romanticism, eighteenth-century poetry and poetics, working-class poets, genre theory, and historiography. See link to website below for CV and published work. Advisor: Rob MitchellDissertation... Full Profile »

Russell James Coldicutt

Student

Office: Allen Building

russell.coldicutt@duke.edu

L.J. Cooper

Student

Office: Allen Building

louis.cooper@duke.edu

I. Augustus Durham

Student

Office: Allen Building

id21@duke.edu

Chandler Thomas Fry

Student

Office: Allen Building

chandler.fry@duke.edu

Kevin Thomas Gallin

Student

Office: Allen Building

kevin.gallin@duke.edu

missing portrait

Kenneth Finnean Harlock

Student

Office: Allen Building

kenneth.harlock@duke.edu

missing portrait

Marina Sofia Magloire

Student

Phone: (224) 273-2333

marina.magloire@duke.edu

Maggie McDowell

Student

Office: Allen Building

margaret.mcdowell@duke.edu

Michael McGurk

Student

Office: Allen Building

michael.mcgurk@duke.edu

Sonia Devdutt Nayak

Student

Office: Allen Building

sonia.nayak@duke.edu

Matthew Bruce Omelsky

Student

Office: Allen Building

matthew.omelsky@duke.edu

African and diasporic literature, film, music; phenomenology; time; French, Wolof, German languages.

Sasha Ann Panaram

Student

Office: 314 Allen Building

Campus Box: Box 90017

sasha.panaram@duke.edu

Ben James Richardson

Student

Office: Allen Building

bjr28@duke.edu

Hannah Lee Rogers

Student

Office: Allen Building

hannah.l.rogers@duke.edu

Kevin Gaylen Spencer

Student

Office: Allen Building

kevin.spencer@duke.edu

20th Century Anglophone; Phenomenology and Ordinary Language Philosophy

Jessica Quick Stark

Student

Office: Allen Building

jessica.quick@duke.edu

Phillip Stillman

Student

Office: Allen Building

phillip.stillman@duke.edu

missing portrait

Patrick Gerald Timmis

Student

Office: Allen Building

patrick.timmis@duke.edu

Stefan de la Pena Waldschmidt

Student

stefan.waldschmidt@duke.edu

Stefan Waldschmidt is a Ph.D Student in English whose research focuses on the aesthetics of cost-benefit analysis and the narratives that Jeremy Bentham's utilitarianism makes possible for nineteenth-century British Literature. His work on the poetry of physiology textbooks can be found in... Full Profile »

JDMA Students