2017 Stephen Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching Winner

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

The English Department at Duke University is honored to announce that Sonia Nayak has been selected as the 2017 Stephen Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching winner. 

This award is presented annually to a graduate student instructor in the English Department who best demonstrates outstanding commitment and excellence in the classroom.  Instructors are nominated by their students, and the winner is selected  by the Director of Graduate Studies (DSG)  in consultation with the DGS Advisory Committee.  The DGS and DGS Advisory Committee bases its decision on the number of students who nominate a graduate instructor; the nature of the descriptions that accompany those nominations; and student evaluation forms from the instructor’s course.

Ms. Nayak was nominated by 6 of 7 students in her fall 2017 English 171 course, "Representative American Writers."  This impressive number of nominations, combined with her excellent teaching evaluations (5.0 out of a possible 5.0 in the “Quality of Teaching” column) and student comments resulted in her winning this honor.

As the winner of 2017 Stephen Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching, Ms. Nayak, will receive a monetary award and certificate.  Sonia Nayak's name will be added to the Stephen Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching plaque located in English Department’s Graduate Student Lounge, 328 Allen Building, and the Stephen Horne Award for Excellence in Teaching page on the English Department’s website.